"It’s all part of the charm of the Village."
While life slows down at the Historical Village during June and July, many island visitors are taking a time-out from a sun and surf holiday to enjoy a leisurely "step back in time" and get a sense of the way life was on Sanibel long before the Causeway brought hordes of tourists. Children, in particular, find the old typewriters, wall telephones and the 1930’s era goods sold in the Old Bailey Store most interesting. Their parents enjoy a "trip down memory lane." The Museum Gift Shop is open and sells a unique mix of gifts and history related items. All of the merchandise is "Made in America" and reasonably priced.
The Sanibel Historical Museum and Village is open on Wednesdays through Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Docents are available to tell some Sanibel stories and share their knowledge about the seven historic buildings on the Museum grounds. Audio recordings in each building bring to light the island’s rich heritage. The Museum is located at 950 Dunlop Road (next to BIGArts) and is handicap accessible. Admission is $5 for adults; children (17 and under) and members are free. For more information, visit the Museum website at www.sanibelmuseum.org or call 472-4648 during business hours.
The School House for White Children was built in 1898 and stood on Periwinkle Way. There are many current islanders who attended class in the one-room school, which did not close until 1964 when the Sanibel School was opened on Sanibel-Captiva Road. Laeticia Nutt, one of Sanibel’s early pioneers, taught school for a salary of $2.50 per pupil per semester.